spiritualist philosophy

Spiritualism is a philosophical way of life. Most religions teach that there is an afterlife; the spiritualist’s objective is to offer proof, through mediumship, of the survival of the human personality after physical death, and also that death is the gateway to a greater expression of life.

The philosophy is not based on any particular book, and there is no ritual, creed, or dogma. Spiritualism encourages each of us to think for ourselves on our path to a fuller understanding of life and life’s purpose. There are seven principles that are offered to aid us in living a good life; it is up to each person to interpret the principles in a way that makes sense to him or her.

the seven principles

The seven principles were given in 1871 through the mediumship of Emma Hardinge Britten, in a message from the social activist Robert Owen (1771–1858). Although a number of spiritualist centres have updated the original principles with more modern language, they are given here as originally received.

  • The fatherhood of God
  • The brotherhood of man
  • The communion of spirits and the ministry of angels
  • The continuous existence of the (human) soul*
  • Personal responsibility
  • Compensation and retribution hereafter for all the good and evil deeds done on earth
  • Eternal progress open to every (human) soul*

* Many spiritualists believe that all life, including animals, should be included in the 4th and 7th principles.